Updates on Life

It’s been an eventful past few months. Lump died in September, which left me broken and dispirited. My company moved to upscale Mont Kiara–I got a new desk, a new view, a new reason to go on a diet. Then I found something not quite ‘right’ with my body; I observed it for over a month, and just recently had a minor op to remove something, while SJMC milked my bank account dry*. In early November, I went to Laos for holiday and made a note to blog down the trip complete with witty comments, but work-related projects and other unexpected things muscled the will and time out of me. My Nikon D40X died two days before the trip–I had to hurriedly borrow Hui Chuan’s or spend the entire plane ride moping about all the lost photo opportunities without my camera. To top it off, my Macbook HDD crashed less than a fortnight ago. It spent a week in ICU–now I have a new hard disk and the cracked, dirty grey top casing’s also been replaced (yay!). Will have to spend the next few days reorganising my stuff and reinstalling programmes (after I get the admin password from the service centre tomorrow) so that I can get on with editing and uploading photos of the trip. Uh oh, looks like I’m not gonna blog about the trip in this post too. Oh well.

*If you don’t have medical insurance, it’s a vital thing to have. Seriously. If you’re working, make sure that your employer covers your medical. The cost of private hospitals in Malaysia (and maybe everywhere else) is beyond belief, I wonder what the government can do/is doing about it. How the heck do you justify ‘counselling fees’ of RM180 if the doctor talks to you ON THE PHONE for 2 minutes after your surgery? Hello? Or RM300+ on one round of antibiotics and some painkillers? Who checks on these prices? Is there any vague form of control? Otherwise, it’s just going to get more insane. So for those who aren’t covered by work insurance (like kids, the poor/unemployed/retired), their options are to (1) never fall sick, (2) invest monthly in insurance with a medical cover, (3) fight for a place in a government hospital, (4) try alternative medicine, (5) go see a bomoh? It’s only when you’re slapped with your first hospital bill that you really realise how important it is to have medical insurance.

This entry was posted in daily life, events, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment